Akademie-Forum: Michael Naumann

Die deutsche Kulturpolitik und die deutsche Geschichte: Ein Gesprächsabend

  • Lectures & Seminars

Künstlerinnen und Künstler

Prof. Dr. Michael Naumann

Vortrag

Dr. Kristina Meyer

Moderation

Gleich ob als Journalist, Verleger, Chefredakteur, erster deutscher Kulturstaatsminister oder Hochschulrektor – Michael Naumann begleitet, kommentiert und prägt seit einem halben Jahrhundert den öffentlichen Diskurs über Kultur, Politik und Kulturpolitik. Seine Biographie spiegelt deutsche Zeitgeschichte wider; der Umgang mit eben dieser bildet einen besonderen Schwerpunkt seiner Tätigkeiten. Zum Anlass seines Abschieds von der Barenboim-Said Akademie wirft Michael Naumann einen Blick zurück auf die deutsche Kulturpolitik und ihr Verhältnis zur deutschen Geschichte. Die Moderation übernimmt die Zeithistorikerin Dr. Kristina Meyer.

In German

Michael Naumann

Michael Naumann, geboren am 8. Dezember 1941, war bis März 2022 Rektor der Barenboim-Said Akademie in Berlin. Er studierte Politische Wissenschaft, Philosophie und Geschichte in Marburg und München, promovierte 1969 mit einer Arbeit über Karl Kraus und habilitierte sich nach einem Studienaufenthalt am Queen’s College, Oxford (1976 – 78) mit einer Studie über den „Strukturwandel des Heroismus.“ Nach seiner Arbeit als Redakteur bei der ZEIT und beim Spiegel wurde er Leiter der Rowohlt Verlage (1985 – 95) und von Henry Holt in New York (1995 – 98). Bundeskanzler Gerhard Schröder berief ihn zum ersten Staatsminister für Kultur (1998 – 2000). Von 2001 bis 2010 war er Chefredakteur, später Herausgeber der ZEIT, dann, bis 2012, Chefredakteur der Zeitschrift Cicero. Naumann war Honorarprofessor an der Humboldt Universität in Berlin.

Kristina Meyer

Dr. Kristina Meyer, Jahrgang 1978, ist seit 2020 wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin bei der Bundeskanzler-Willy-Brandt-Stiftung in Berlin. Zuvor war sie viele Jahre wissenschaftliche Geschäftsführerin des Jena Center Geschichte des 20. Jahrhunderts an der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena. Promoviert wurde sie mit einer Arbeit über „Die SPD und die NS-Vergangenheit 1945 – 1990“ (Wallstein Verlag, Göttingen 2015). Seit 2019 ist sie Co-Sprecherin des Geschichtsforums beim SPD-Parteivorstand.

SIEHE AUCH

Akademie-Forum: Michael Naumann

German Cultural Policy and German History: A Conversation

  • Lectures & Seminars

Artists

Prof. Dr. Michael Naumann

Lecture

Dr. Kristina Meyer

Presenter

As a journalist, publisher, editor-in-chief, first German Federal Commissioner of Cultural Affairs, or university rector — for half a century, Michael Naumann has been observing, commenting on, and influencing public discourse on culture, politics, and cultural policy. His biography reflects German contemporary history; coming to terms with that history has been a special focus of his activities. On the occasion of his retirement from the Barenboim-Said Akademie, Michael Naumann looks back on German cultural policy and its relationship to German history. The event is moderated by the contemporary historian Dr. Kristina Meyer.

In German

Michael Naumann

Michael Naumann, born in Germany in 1941, studied philosophy, history, and political science in Munich and Oxford. From 1969 on, he was a correspondent and reporter for various German papers and magazines. Between 1985 and 1995, he was publisher and CEO of the German publishing company Rowohlt. From 1995 on he was the head of the New York–based publisher Henry Holt. In 1998 he was appointed Commissioner for Cultural Affairs of the federal government of Germany. Between 2001 and 2010, he was chief editor, then publisher-editor of the German weekly DIE ZEIT. Between 2012 and 2022, he was the founding rector of the Barenboim-Said Academy. He also taught literature at the Humboldt University in Berlin.

Kristina Meyer

Dr. Kristina Meyer, born in 1978, is a historian at the Willy Brandt Foundation in Berlin. For many years, she was the managing director of the Jena Center for 20th Century History at the Friedrich Schiller University in Jena. She wrote her doctoral thesis on “The SPD and the Nazi Past, 1945 – 1990” (Wallstein Verlag, Göttingen 2015). Since 2019, she has been the co-spokesperson of the History Forum of the SPD Party Executive.

SEE ALSO