Jörg Widmann erhält den Robert Schumann-Preis für Dichtung und Musik 2018

Der Klarinettist, Komponist und Dirigent Jörg Widmann erhält in diesem Jahr den Robert Schumann-Preis für Dichtung und Musik. Er wird für seine Kompositionen ausgezeichnet, so die Begründung der Jury, »die er aus der tiefen Vertrautheit mit den ihm davidsbündlerisch assoziierten Meistern der Vergangenheit wie der Gegenwart schafft und dabei mit unbezähmbarer Neugier nach Musikorten sucht, die vor ihm noch keiner betreten hat.«

»Seine Musik«, so die Jury weiter, »spricht auch ohne Worte in derselben Beredtheit wie in Werken, die auf Texten gründen. Seine Kompositionen tragen hohe Dichtung im Titel wie die Klaviersonate ›Fleurs du mal‹ oder das Ensemblestück ›Wandrers Nachtlied‹, ohne dass Baudelaire und Goethe hörbar zu Wort kommen. Sie schöpfen wortlos aus langen Traditionen wie in der orchestralen Trias Lied, Chor und Messe. Oder sie werden bestimmt von der mal lyrischen Intimität, mal pathosgeladenen Extravertiertheit, mal nonsenshaft-skurrilen Intensität von Texten Klabunds, Brentanos, Härtlings, Sloterdijks, des ›Knaben Wunderhorn‹, der Bibel und aus vielen Quellen mehr: Davon künden paradigmatisch die Oper ›Babylon‹, der Liederzyklus ›Das heiße Herz‹ oder das Oratorium ›Arche‹. Reden allein in Tönen ebenso wie im Surplus der Verbindung von Sprache und Musik kennzeichnet auch die Kunst Robert Schumanns, der sich Jörg Widmann seit langem tief verbunden fühlt und auf die er immer wieder antwortet, zuletzt in den fünf Stücken im Märchenton für Klarinette, Viola und Klavier ›Es war einmal‹.«

Der Preis wird alle zwei Jahre an Persönlichkeiten für ein herausragendes Werk auf dem Gebiet der Musik, der Dichtung sowie der Musikvermittlung vergeben. Vorherige Preisträger waren Pierre Boulez, Wolfgang Rihm und Aribert Reimann.

Der Preis wird am 8. November 2018, 19 Uhr, in der Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Literatur verliehen. Die Laudatio hält der frühere Vorstand der Wiener Philharmoniker und Violonist Prof. Dr. Clemens Hellsberg.

Jörg Widmann receives the Robert Schumann Prize 2018

Clarinetist, composer, and conductor Jörg Widmann will be this year’s recipient of the Robert Schumann Prize for Poetry and Music. The prize, as the jury states in its citation, specifically honors Widmann’s works as a composer, which manifest both “a deep familiarity with the masters of the past, to whom the composer seems bound by a sacred covenant, and an irrepressible curiosity, leading him into musical spaces that no one has entered before.”

“Even when it eschews all forms of vocalization,” the jury writes, “his music is as eloquent as any text-based work of art. Through their titles, the compositions are often tied back to celebrated works of literature, as in the piano sonata ‘Fleurs du mal’ or in the ensemble piece ‘Wandrers Nachtlied’ – and yet, the words of Baudelaire or Goethe themselves are never heard. Though they do not ‘speak’, Widmann’s works – especially those within the orchestral triad of song, choir and liturgical mass – are nevertheless consistently aligned with storied literary traditions. Or they evince the lyrical intimacy, the dramatic ostentatiousness, the poetically nonsensical intensity found in the works of Klabund, Brentano, Härtling, Sloterdijk, in ‘Des Knaben Wunderhorn’ or in the Bible. Paradigmatic examples of this literary approach are Widmann’s opera ‘Babylon’, his song cycle ‘Das heiße Herz’ and his oratorio ‘Arche’. Speaking in tones and finding meaning in the surplus resulting from the marriage of language and music – these are also defining features of the work of Robert Schumann, which has always had a deep significance for Jörg Widmann and which he has repeatedly referenced in his own compositions, most recently in his five fairy-tale pieces for clarinet, viola and piano entitled ‘Once upon a time’.”

The Robert Schumann Prize is awarded every two years to artists who have made outstanding contributions to the fields of music, poetry and musical education. The previous recipients were Pierre Boulez, Wolfgang Rihm and Aribert Reimann.

The prize will be presented on 8 November 2018 at 7 p.m. in the Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Literatur in Mainz. The congratulatory speech will be given by violinist and former chairman of the Vienna Philharmonic Prof. Dr. Clemens Hellsberg.