DR. GIUSEPPE MENTUCCIA

Orchesterspiel, Leiter des Barenboim-Said Akademie Orchesters

BIOGRAPHIE

Der italienische Dirigent und Pianist Giuseppe Mentuccia war bereits an so renommierten Spielstätten wie der Metropolitan Opera, der Wiener Staatsoper, der Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia, der Staatsoper Unter den Linden und der Berliner Philharmonie zu Gast.     

Derzeit ist Mentuccia musikalischer Assistent von Daniel Barenboim an der Staatsoper Unter den Linden in Berlin und war als musikalischer Assistent an der Wiener Staatsoper, der Metropolitan Opera, dem Lindemann Young Artist Development Program, der Juilliard School und der Manhattan School of Music zu Gast. Er arbeitete mit Dirigenten wie Daniel Barenboim, James Levine, Myung-Whun Chung, James Conlon, Marco Armiliato, Manfred Honeck und David Robertson zusammen.

In der Spielzeit 2020-2021 debütiert Mentuccia mit der Zauberflöte an der Staatsoper Unter den Linden und tritt der Fakultät der Barenboim-Said Akademie als Dirigent des neu gegründeten Barenboim-Said Akademie Orchesters bei. Er wird auch als Musikdirektor des Opernkinderorchesters an der Staatsoper Unter den Linden fungieren und seine Zusammenarbeit mit dem Boulez Ensemble im Pierre Boulez Saal fortsetzen.

Sein Debüt an der Metropolitan Opera gab Mentuccia 2016 in einer Galavorstellung gemeinsam mit dem Met-Orchester und den Lindemann Young Artists im DiMenna Center in New York. Außerdem leitete er die 2016 stattfindende Patrons Concert Gala im Peter Jay Sharp Theater am Lincoln Center und war Assistenzdirigent und Coach für die Met/Juilliard-Produktion von Bellinis La Sonnambula.

Auf Einladung von Marylin Horne war Mentuccia Resident Conductor und Coach für italienisches Repertoire an der Music Academy of the West, wo er das OperaFest leitete und in Produktionen wie Rossinis La Cenerentola, Smetanas Die verkaufte Braut, Donizettis L'Elisir d'Amore und Mozarts Le Nozze di Figaro mitwirkte.

Zu Mentuccias Auszeichnungen als Solo-Pianist zählen der Premio Vittoria als bester Absolvent des Konservatoriums von Santa Cecilia, der erste Preis beim Rotary Club International Music Competition und der erste Preis beim Juilliard Strawinsky-Konzertwettbewerb. Seinem Interesse an der Beziehung zwischen Philosophie und Musik ging Mentuccia in seiner Dissertation über den rumänischen Dirigenten Sergiu Celibidache nach, die er unter dem Titel "Phänomenologie und die musikalische Vision von Sergiu Celibidache" veröffentlichte.

Mentuccia ist Absolvent des Metropolitan Opera Lindemann Young Artist Development Program, der Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia, und hat sowohl seinen Master- als auch einen Doktorgrad an der Juilliard School erworben

DR. GIUSEPPE MENTUCCIA

Orchestral Performance, Conductor of the Barenboim-Said Akademie Orchestra

BIOGRAPHY

Italian conductor and pianist Giuseppe Mentuccia has appeared as a performer in prestigious venues such as the Metropolitan Opera, Wiener Staatsoper, Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia, Staatsoper Unter den Linden, and Berlin Philharmonie.

Mentuccia is currently musical assistant to Daniel Barenboim at the Staatsoper Unter den   Linden in Berlin, and has been a guest musical assistant at the Wiener Staatsoper, Metropolitan Opera, Lindemann Young Artist Development Program, The Juilliard School, and Manhattan School of Music. He worked with conductors such as Daniel Barenboim, James Levine, Myung-Whun Chung, James Conlon, Marco Armiliato, Manfred Honeck, and David Robertson.

In the season 2020-2021, Mentuccia debuts at the Staatsoper Unter den Linden with Die Zauberflöte, and  joins the faculty of the Barenboim Said Akademie as conductor of the newly formed Barenboim-Said Akademie Orchestra. He will also serve as the music director of the Opernkinderorchester at the Staatsoper Unter den Linden, and continue his association with the Boulez Ensemble at the Pierre Boulez Saal in Berlin.      

Mentuccia made his Metropolitan Opera debut in 2016, in a gala performance with the Met Orchestra and the Lindemann Young Artists at the DiMenna Center in New York. He also conducted the 2016 Patrons Concert Gala in the Peter Jay Sharp Theater at Lincoln Center and has been assistant conductor and coach for the Met/Juilliard production of Bellini's La Sonnambula.

Invited by Marylin Horne, Mentuccia has been resident conductor and Italian repertoire coach at Music Academy of the West, where he conducted the OperaFest, and worked in productions such as Rossini’s La Cenerentola, Smetana’s The Bartered Bride, Donizetti’s L’Elisir dAmore and Mozart’s Le Nozze di Figaro.          

Mentuccia’s awards as a solo pianist include the Premio Vittoria, as best  graduate of the Conservatory of Santa Cecilia, the first prize at the Rotary Club International Music Competition, and the first prize at the Juilliard Stravinsky Concerto Competition. Interested in the relationship between philosophy and music, he published his doctoral dissertation on the Romanian conductor Sergiu Celibidache, called “Phenomenology and the Musical Vision of Sergiu Celibidache.”

Mentuccia is a graduate of the Metropolitan Opera Lindemann Young Artist Development Program, the Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia, and holds both a Masters and a Doctoral degree from The Juilliard School.