MATTHIEU STEPEC

Musiktheorie

BIOGRAPHIE

Matthieu Stepec ist ein französischer Pianist, Komponist und Musiktheoretiker, der in Berlin aktiv ist. Nachdem er in der Klasse von Herrn Prof. Leonardy und Herrn Prof. Jean Micault Klavier studierte, bewegte es ihn nach Berlin, wo er sein Diplom für Klavierpädagogik an der Universität der Künste in der Klasse von Frau Prof. Heide Görtz absolvierte. Danach studierte er Musiktheorie als Hauptfach bei Prof. Dr. Ariane Jessulat und schloss mit einem Master ab.
Sein autodidaktisches Verhältnis zum Klavier führt dazu, dass er sich viel mit Improvisation auseinandergesetzt hat, sodass das Thema zu einer seiner Spezialitäten geworden ist. Bei seinen Klavierabenden führt er z.B. improvisierte Elemente in klassischen Programme ein.
Als Komponist kann er sowohl musiktheoretische Fähigkeiten als auch Gespür für moderne Kultur nachweisen, was dazu führte, dass er den 2. Preis des Wettbewerbs "Neue Musik und China" (Hamburg) in 2016 gewann mit dem 4-händigen Klavierstück "Yanhua".
In 2017 gründete er das Ensemble Xénos mit Terukaku Yamashita, Thanos Karakantas und Arthur Rusanovsky,was sich auf Gruppenimprovisation fokussiert.
Aktuell unterrichtet Matthieu Stepec Musiktheorie an der Humboldt Universität zu Berlin, an der Universität Potsdam, an der Universität der Künste Berlin sowie an der Barenboim Said Akademie. Er wurde auch schon eingeladen, Kurse für Klavier und Komposition zu leiten in der Staatsoper Berlin und in Musikakademien der Guangzhou Region (China).

MATTHIEU STEPEC

Lecturer in Music Theory

BIOGRAPHY

Matthieu Stepec is a French pianist, composer, and music theorist currently residing and teaching in Berlin, Germany. He studied piano in Saarbrücken with Prof. Robert Leonardy and Prof. Jean Micault. To further develop his performance and teaching expertise, he joined the Diploma Program of Piano Pedagogy at the Berlin University of the Arts (Universität der Künste Berlin) with of Prof. Heide Görtz. After completing his Diploma in Piano Pedagogy, he then pursued a master’s degree in music theory with Prof. Dr. Ariane Jessulat at Berlin University of the Arts.
His self-taught approach to piano led him to practice Improvisation, which has become one of his main specialties and focuses. In his performances, freely improvised elements are injected into classical programs in order to shed new lights on the standard repertoire.
As a composer, he was able to integrate traditional music theory applications with modern cultural sounds, which he received a second prize for at the Hamburger competition "Neue Musik und China" in 2016 for his 4-hand piece "Yanhua".
In 2017, he founded the Ensemble Xénos with Terukaku Yamashita, Thanos Karakantas and Arthur Rusanovsky, which focuses on improvisation in a group setting. This creates a unique and innovative environment among the group members and with the audience that is constantly evolving.
Currently, Matthieu Stepec is teaching music theory at the Humboldt University Berlin, the University Potsdam, as well as the Barenboim-Said Academy. He has also been invited to instruct guest lectures on music theory and piano among others, in the Staatsoper Berlin, the Deutsche Schülerakademie, as well as music academies in the Guanzhou area in China.