PROF. DR. MENA MARK HANNA

Dekan, Professor für Musikwissenschaften und Komposition

BIOGRAPHIE

Mena Mark Hanna ist Dekan der Barenboim-Said Akademie. Er promovierte am Merton College der Oxford University, wo er Musikwissenschaft und Komposition studierte. Bevor er seine Position bei der Barenboim-Said Akademie antrat, war Hanna stellvertretender künstlerischer Leiter und Dramaturg an der Houston Grand Opera und Gastforscher und -dozent der Musikwissenschaft an der Shepherd School of Music der Rice University.

Hanna unterrichtet außerdem an der Akademie Musikwissenschaft. Die Schwerpunkte seiner Forschung und Lehre sind der Sakralgesang des Nahen Ostens, Musik des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts, Komposition und elektronische Musik. Seine Doktorarbeit, Towards a Structural Theory of Coptic Chant, wird demnächst von The Gingko Library verlegt und über die University of Chicago Press vertrieben.

Hanna erhielt ein Marshall-Stipendium, das James Ingham Halstead Reisestipdendium und den BMI Young Composer Award. Seine Kompositionen sind an der Fondation Royaumont, beim Darmstädter Festival Neuer Musik und bei den ISCM World Music Days aufgeführt worden von Klangkörpern wie Ensemble Linea, Les Cris de Paris, vom Cygnus Ensemble, dem Momenta Quartett und anderen.

PROF. DR. MENA MARK HANNA

Dean, Professor of Musicology and Composition

BIOGRAPHY

Mena Mark Hanna is dean of the Barenboim-Said Akademie. He received his Ph.D. from Oxford University’s Merton College, where he studied musicology and music composition. Prior to coming to the Barenboim-Said Akademie, Hanna was assistant artistic director and dramaturg at Houston Grand Opera, and visiting scholar and lecturer in musicology at Rice University’s Shepherd School of Music.

Hanna also teaches musicology at the Akademie. His research and teaching interests include Middle Eastern chant, music of the 20th and 21st centuries, and composition and electronic music. His Ph.D. thesis, Towards a Structural Theory of Coptic Chant, is a forthcoming publication by The Gingko Library, distributed by University of Chicago Press.

He is a recipient of the Marshall Scholarship, the James Ingham Halstead Travelling Scholarship, and the BMI Young Composer Award. His compositions have been premiered at the Fondation Royaumont, the Darmstadt New Music Festival, and ISCM World Music Days, and performed by Ensemble Linea, Les Cris de Paris, the Cygnus Ensemble, and the Momenta Quartet, and others.