MOR BIRON

Fagott

BIOGRAPHIE

Der Fagottist Mor Biron ist langjähriges Mitglied der Berliner Philharmoniker.

Nachdem er zunächst Solofagottist im Orquesta del Palau de les Arts Reina Sofia in Valencia in Spanien war, wurde er 2007 Mitglied der Berliner Philharmoniker. Als aktiver Kammermusiker ist er Mitglied des Ensembles Berlin-Prag, des Philharmonischen Oktetts und des Ensemble Berlin.

Mor Biron wurde 1982 in Israel geboren und begann sehr früh mit dem Cellounterricht, bevor er bei Gad Lederman und Maurizio Paez Fagottunterricht erhielt. Seine Studienzeit verbrachte er an der Jerusalem Academy for Music and Dance und an der Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler in Berlin bei Klaus Thunemann sowie Volker Tessmann.

Er war bei herausragenden Wettbewerben erfolgreich, so gewann er den 1. Preis beim Aviv Competition in Tel Aviv und war Stipendiat der America-Israel Cultural Foundation. Ferner war er Mitglied der Karajan-Akademie der Berliner Philharmoniker.

Neben dem Unterricht an der Barenboim-Said Akademie ist Biron Mitglied im West-Eastern-Divan Orchestra, mit dem er häufig solistisch konzertiert. Aufgrund seiner Leidenschaft für alte Musik spielt er regelmäßig auf historischen Instrumenten.

MOR BIRON

Lecturer in Bassoon

BIOGRAPHY

Bassoonist Mor Biron is a longtime member of the Berliner Philharmoniker.

After serving as first bassoonist in the Orquesta Del Palau de Les Arts Reina Sofia in Valencia, Spain, he joined the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra in 2007. He is a very active chamber musician and a member of Ensemble Berlin-Prag, the Philharmonisches Oktett and Ensemble Berlin.

Born in Israel in 1982, Biron took up cello at a very young age and then moved on to study bassoon with Gad Lederman and Maurizio Paez. He holds a bachelor’s degree from the Jerusalem Academy of Music and Dance, and has studied at the Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler Berlin under Professor Klaus Thunemann and Professor Volker Tessmann.

He has won notable prizes, among them first place in the Aviv Competition, sponsored by the America-Israel Cultural Foundation, who also awarded him a scholarship. He also received scholarship from the Karajan-Akademie of the Berliner Philharmoniker.
 
In addition to teaching bassoon at the Barenboim-Said Akademie, Biron is a member of the West-Eastern Divan Orchestra, where he frequently performs as soloist. He keeps his passion for early music alive by performing on historical instruments.