PROF. DR. JACOB EDER

Geschichte

BIOGRAPHIE

Jacob Eder lehrt an der Barenboim-Said Akademie Neuere und Neueste Geschichte. Seine Arbeitsschwerpunkte liegen im Bereich der Erinnerungskultur, der transatlantischen Beziehungen, der Geschichte des Antisemitismus, der Geschichte des Humanitarismus und der Migrationsgeschichte.

Zuvor hat Jacob Eder an der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter zur Geschichte des 20. Jahrhunderts gearbeitet und war zwischen Herbst 2017 und Februar 2019 Feodor Lynen-Stipendiat der Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung am History Department der New York University. Dort war er 2018 zudem Fellow am Remarque Institute der NYU. Eder hat von 2001 bis 2005 Geschichte und Amerikanistik an der LMU München und der University of Leeds (England) studiert. 2007 schloss er als Fulbright-Stipendiat sein Studium mit einem Master in History an der University of Nebraska-Lincoln ab. Im Anschluss promovierte er an der University of Pennslvania, wo er sein Graduiertenstudium 2009 einen Master in History und 2012 mit einem PhD in History abschloss. Eder verbrachte Forschungsaufenthalte als Fellow am Georg-Eckert-Institut für internationale Schulbuchforschung in Braunschweig, am Deutschen Historischen Institut in Washington, D.C., und zwei Mal am Mandel Center for Advanced Holocaust Studies des United States Holocaust Memorial Museum in Washington, D.C. Im akademischen Jahr 2011/12 war er Mellon-Fellow an der Elliott School of International Affairs (IERES) an der George Washington University, wo er auch das Program on Conducting Archival Research koordinierte. 2017 und 2018 war er Visiting Scholar an der Hebräischen Universität in Jerusalem.

Jacob Eder hat zahlreiche Stipendien und Fellowships erhalten, u.a. von der Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung, der Andrew W. Mellon-Stiftung, der Ernst-Abbe-Stiftung, der Gerda Henkel Stiftung, dem DAAD, der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG), der Deutsch-amerikanischen Fulbright-Kommission, dem Jena Center Geschichte des 20. Jahrhunderts, der Society for Historians of American Foreign Relations, der University of Pennsylvania und der Zeit-Stiftung Ebelin und Gerd Bucerius. Sein Buch „Holocaust Angst“ war für mehrere Wissenschaftspreise nominiert und erhielt den Fraenkel Prize in Contemporary History der Wiener Library London, den Marko Feingold Preis (Salzburg) und den Betty M. Unterberger Dissertation Prize der Society for Historians of American Foreign Relations. Im Jahr 2018 erhielt Eder den universitätsweiten Lehrpreis der Universität Jena für ein Kooperationsseminar mit der Hebräischen Universität Jerusalem, das sich mit der Erinnerungskultur in Deutschland und Israel befasste.

PUBLIKATIONEN

Neben zahlreichen Aufsätzen und Artikeln ist Jacob Eder Autor des Buchs Holocaust Angst: The Federal Republic of Germany and American Holocaust Memory since the 1970s (Oxford University Press, 2016; die Taschenbuchausgabe erscheint 2021). Das Buch wurde breit rezipiert und erschien 2019 in polnischer (Instytut Pileckiego, 2019) und 2020 in deutscher Übersetzung (Wallstein, 2020). Er ist Mitherausgeber von Holocaust ­Memory in a Globalizing World (Wallstein, 2017); zudem schreibt er u.a. für The Atlantic, Haaretz, Süddeutsche Zeitung, tageszeitung, Time Magazine und Zeit Online.


Kontakt: [email protected]

PROF. DR. JACOB EDER

History

BIOGRAPHY

Jacob Eder teaches Modern and Contemporary History at the Barenboim-Said Akademie. His research as a historian deals with the politics of memory, antisemitism, transatlantic relations, humanitarianism, and migration. 

Before joining the Barenboim-Said Akademie, Jacob Eder taught contemporary history at the Friedrich-Schiller-University Jena and was, from 2017 to 2019, a Feodor Lynen-Fellow of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation at the History Department of New York University as well as a Fellow at NYU’s Remarque Institute for the multi-disciplinary and comparative study of Europe and its near neighbors. From 2001 to 2005, he studied Modern History and American Studies at the Ludwig-Maximilians-University Munich and the University of Leeds (UK). In 2007, he received an M.A. in History from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, where he held a Fulbright Scholarship. He received an M.A. as well as a Ph.D. in History from the University of Pennsylvania in 2009 and 2012, respectively. Eder has held fellowships at the Georg-Eckert-Institute for International Textbook Research in Braunschweig, the German Historical Institute in Washington, D.C., and twice at the Mandel Center for Advanced Holocaust Studies of the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum in Washington, D.C. In 2011-12, he was the Mellon Foundation Fellow at the IERES/Elliott School of International Affairs at George Washington University, where he also coordinated the Program on Conducting Archival Research. In 2017 and 2018, he was a Visiting Scholar at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem.

Jacob Eder has received fellowships and grants from the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, the Ernst-Abbe-Foundation, the Gerda Henkel Foundation, the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD), the German Research Foundation (DFG), the German-American Fulbright Commission, the Jena Center 20th Century History, the Society for Historians of American Foreign Relations, the University of Pennsylvania, the Zeit-Stiftung Ebelin und Gerd Bucerius, and others. His book “Holocaust Angst” was a finalist for several awards and received the Fraenkel Prize in Contemporary History of the Wiener Library, the Marko Feingold Prize (Salzburg), and the Betty M. Unterberger Dissertation Prize of the Society for Historians of American Foreign Relations. In 2018, Eder received Jena University’s teaching award for a seminar on memory in Germany and Israel, which brought together students from Jena and Jerusalem.

PUBLICATIONS

In addition to numerous articles and book chapters, Jacob Eder is the author of Holocaust Angst: The Federal Republic of Germany and American Holocaust Memory since the 1970s (Oxford University Press, 2016; paperback forthcoming 2021). This book has been widely reviewed and was translated into Polish (Instytut Pileckiego, 2019) and German (Wallstein, 2020). Eder is also a co-editor of Holocaust Memory in a Globalizing World (Wallstein, 2017) and has written for The Atlantic, Haaretz, Süddeutsche Zeitung, tageszeitung, Time Magazine, and Zeit Online.

Contact: [email protected]